NPP Council of Elders forms four committees

The General Council of Elders of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has formed an Executive Committee to oversee the running of the council.

The committee, which is chaired by Mr C.K. Tedam, has Mr Hackman Owusu-Agyemang as the Vice-Chairman, Madam Mary Nartey, Treasurer; Professor Al-Hassan Wayo Seini, Secretary, and Alhaji Suleiman Yiremia as member.

A letter addressed to the National Chairman of the party, Mr Freddie Blay, and signed by the Chairman of the Council of Elders, Mr Tedam, said the elections were held in accordance with Article 16 (1) of the NPP’s constitution at the General Meeting of the Council of Elders on January 17, 2019, where members agreed to form an Executive Committee to oversee the running of the council.

That, the letter said, would inject some dynamism into the activities of the council.

The following committees were also constituted: Finance, Complaints and Disputes.

The Finance Committee is chaired by Amadu Kaleem, while the Complaints and Disputes Committees are chaired by Mr Begyina Sekyi-Hughes and Mrs Agnes Okudzeto, respectively.

“It is our fervent hope that the elections of these people will strengthen the council as it thrives to help the party achieve its aims and objectives,” the letter stated.